This article describes how integrations are shared amongst users and organizations. Sharing allows users to have fine-grained access to an integration with different access levels.
|None||No access, cannot see or do anything with an integration|
|Can view||Can only read the integration definition, but cannot modify or test it. Can attach an instance of it to a Thread.|
|Can edit||Can modify and test the integration, but cannot remove it|
|Is owner||Can do everything including removal of the integration|
The sharing modal can be accessed at the top of any integration's edit/modify page. Click the icon at the top of the page.
|Workspace | Integrations | Devices|
You can select the users to share it with and grant them the appropriate access level. For more info on how the sharing modal works, see Sharing & Permissions.
All users will have READ access to all sensor integrations. Sensor integrations are relatively simple and do not require permission protection. This allows users to re-use existing sensor integrations, e.g. a temperature sensor which is used on a lot of devices.
Device integrations that are created are initially only visible by the user creating the integration. The user creating the integration is automatically assigned OWNER level access. It can be tested only by the owner. The integration can be shared by the owner with other users in their organization (and other organizations) by using the sharing modal after which they will be able to read/edit/delete the integration depending on the granted access level. Users who have at least READ access to the integration will be able to add an instance of the device integration to a Thread for testing or for production use. In order for an integration to go public to all users for use on a Thread, sensemetrics will curate the integration and promote the integration. The fine-grained access levels will still apply for the integration definition. See Promotion section below for more info about the curation process.
See above, this is identical to device integrations
See above, this is identical to device integrations except that algorithms are only visible globally by all users or not visible at all. Algorithms can be tested immediately but their results will not be present when graphing until sensemetrics reviews the algorithm and promotes it to GLOBAL visibility (see below). Read/write/delete access for the algorithm integration definition itself will continue to follow the sharing policy defined using the sharing modal.
If an integration is only used for explicitly selected users, then no promotion by sensemetrics is required. If a larger audience is needed the following levels of visibility can be set by a sensemetrics administrator as part of a curation process:
|ORGANIZATION||Any user in the owner's organization can use the integration|
|MULTI_ORGANIZATION||Any user in all of the organizations that have a member that has at least READ access can use the integration|
|GLOBAL||All users can use the integration|
Please sign in to leave a comment.