Sharing

Screen_Shot_2017-08-03_at_2.37.19_PM.png

Sharing allows different in-app features such as Data, Profiles, and Alerts to be accessed by additional users within your organization.

Sharing a Connection with another user will give them access to that Connection and it's associated Devices and Sensors. 

Sharing any type of profile; Graphing, Mapping, or Table, will add that particular profile to their list of profiles allowing them access to it. If a profile containing certain sensors is shared with someone who does not have access to that particular Connection, the Connection will be shared with them as well.

Press the blue share button Screen_Shot_2017-08-03_at_2.37.19_PM.png to share the selected entity with someone.

User Permissions 

When sharing Connections or Profiles, users will be given certain permission rights that control what they are able to do. When sharing something with another user, the user will be established as an Owner, Editor, or Viewer.

 

  Owner 

  • Owner is able to delete the Connection/profile and associated Devices
  • Can Share Connection/Profile with other Users
  • Can change User permissions for all Users including changing Owner
  • Can edit Device, Sensor or profile settings
  • Can View the Connection/Profile

  Can Edit 

  • Editor can share Connection/Profiles with other Users
  • Can change User permissions for all Users except Owner
  • Can edit Device, Sensor or Profile settings
  • Can View the Connection/Profile

  Can View 

  • Can View the Connection/Profile

   None 

  • Cannot View Connection/Profile

  

Setting User Permissions

To share a Profile, Connection, or Alert, follow the steps below.

Step 1

Navigate to the Connection, Profile, or Alert that you wish to share.

Step 2

Once within the Connection Settings Page or profile, click the Screen_Shot_2017-08-03_at_2.37.19_PM.png User Permissions button

Step 3

You will open the following User Permissions Editor,


Step 4

Type the name of the User you wish to share the Connection/Profile with. Once the User is found, select "Add User" to add the User to the list. 

Step 5

Change the Users Permissions from  to the permissions desired

Step 6

Select Submit to save the settings

 Now, that Connection or Profile will populate the new User's page 

 

Adding Vs Sharing a Connection

When a Connection or THREAD is first added, the user that added that Connection will become Owner.

A User without access to that Connection can gain access to it by adding the connect code. However, since that Connection is already "Owned", they will either gain Viewing or Editing rights. Admin adding an already configured Connection will gain Editing rights and Basic Users adding a Connection will get Viewing rights.

A simpler approach is done by having the Owner or an Editor share the Connections with whoever needs access.  

Once the Connection has been added, simply press user permissions Screen_Shot_2017-08-03_at_2.37.19_PM.pngto give desired permissions to any User within the Organization. 

Shared profiles can only be accessed by sharing Screen_Shot_2017-08-03_at_2.37.19_PM.png

 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.